I tried to post on Monday

but apparently something involving the internet/Safari/my computer didn’t like me.  It didn’t like me much today, either, so I’ve switched to Firefox and am posting Monday’s words along with new words for today.

Since I last wrote, I’ve actually done some stuff.  Not a lot, but some.  Let’s see…On Saturday, I hung out with my best friend, playing video games for a couple hours.  Then, I went to my camp director’s baby shower.  On Sunday, I taught Sunday school and was a little crafty.  And now it’s now and I want to sleep.  It’s chilly out and I’m bored.  I had ceramics this morning, and managed to make two sets of teapot parts, so hopefully those turn into two of the four teapots I need.  Then, I had special ed…it was pretty much the same as usual.  The girls who sit around me were annoying, and we covered a topic I was familiar with already (actually, I felt like we had talked about it before in that class, but apparently not).  And then, I *prepare your shocked faces* did two things I’ve been avoiding for weeks!  I set up an advising appointment and finally wrote a note and left my late drop form in the proper mailbox, so now, at the very least, my mom can stop bothering me about those two things for a bit.  The advising appointment is on Wednesday, for about 10 minutes.  I don’t really know how much we can cover in 10 minutes…then again, I don’t know what needs to be covered, so maybe it is enough time.

I need to go to the chiropractor.  My neck and back and hips are crackly.  I also need to get a haircut.  My hair is crackly.  Maybe I’ll do that later this week.  Maybe not.

Tomorrow, I’ll be volunteering at Goodwill.  I think we’ll make bird feeders (the kind with gelatin holding together the seed and shaped by cookie cutters).  That should be fun.  Then, I could either stay there or go to a church lady’s house and knit for a bit.  I haven’t decided yet which I’ll do.  Then, I have a doctor appointment.  My life is so exciting.

 

And now it’s Wednesday.  Let’s see…Yesterday, I got to Goodwill and asked for the supplies for the bird feeders…they didn’t have them, apparently because when they went shopping, one of the clients had a seizure, so they came back without buying anything, and they’re short staffed, so the director doesn’t have time to go shopping…this is all fine and dandy, except for the fact that she told me she was going out shopping the last time I was there, and then left…I assumed to go buy stuff.  Apparently not.  Whatever.  They’re getting new staff in the next few weeks, so after that, she said, they should be able to get the supplies and we can do the bird feeders.  So yesterday, I went into the center, totally prepared to make bird feeders.  I had my cookie cutters and even a wooden spatula thing.  Then I couldn’t do that.  So I improvised with another project I was going to do later, paper plate weaving.  They have tons of paper plates and three skeins of yarn in various colors, so that was perfect.  I prepared the plates for weaving and precut some yarn and got some people to come into the art room.  By some, I mean I was prepared to work with two at a time and they sent in four.  I worked with them and a couple other groups.  Their weavings were mostly a strand or two of yarn tied to a web framework I had made, because nobody seemed to want to do it without my help and then they said they were done.  So, for the last two people, I changed the project.  I had the notches cut in the plates and just let them layer the yarn by securing it that way and wrapping it around.  The woman who did it was impatient, but even hers was a better result than the first attempts had been because I changed the project, but the man who did it, who I know from working with him in the spring seems to like art, spent a lot of time on his piece.  He was pleased with it, it seemed, so that was a good way for me to end my time there.  Next week, since it’s almost Thanksgiving, I’m going to try to find a project that goes with that theme.  I’ve got a few ideas, so I just have to narrow it down and figure out how to make them work with the supplies they have (or reusable supplies I could bring in).

After Goodwill started lunch, I left and went to get my own lunch.  Then, I had about an hour with nothing to do.  I hadn’t brought my computer with me, so I couldn’t make use of the restaurant’s Wi-Fi, so I decided to go to WalMart and look around for a bit.  I got a couple of Christmas present ideas for my godson, but will have to check with his mom first to make sure he’ll like them and doesn’t already have them.  I also came up with some art/craft ideas for him and his four older siblings.  They’re homeschooled, and I teach them art for a couple of weeks every winter.  It’s a really great experience with awesome kids.  I try to come up with new projects that they’ll like while still learning the skills they would if they were in public school.  So far, it’s gone pretty well, and I’d like that trend to continue this year.

After my walk around WalMart, I went to the church lady’s house.  She was hosting a gathering of ladies who knit and crochet stuff for church, like baptismal gifts and prayer shawls.  All the ladies there (about 10) were considerably older than me (some of them had grandkids in my preschool class, and some of them were old enough to be my grandma).  They liked to joke about that, and I felt very welcome in their group.  I’ve started knitting a prayer shawl with some yarn I had, so I’ll be working on that again sometime soon.  I spent about two hours there, and then went to the doctor.  When I got home, I…hmmm…what did I do?…I guess I went online for a while and ate dinner and watched TV.  I also worked on my homemade gift for my camp director’s baby.  I’m cross stitching little booties for her.  I was going to felt some shoes, but that attempt didn’t turn out so well…so I gave up, for now, and went to WalMart, planning to get onesies and fabric markers…I found those, but then saw the booties for cross stitching and decided to make them instead.  So Monday afternoon, I worked on the patterns for them.  I’m making one with a hippo on the bottom and the other with some words from a hippo song we sing at camp.  Then they’ll have little hearts on the tops of the toes.  I think they’ll be cute.  I have two words done so far, and they’re looking good.  I’m going to work on them more this afternoon and tomorrow when I’m not at my other doctor appointment.

Today, I had my advising appointment.  It did not take 10 minutes.  It took about half an hour.  Apparently, my folder was completely empty and my adviser had no idea what I had already taken or needed to take or who to talk to or anything.  So I got the old checklist from the office (they apparently haven’t updated that yet, so who knows if I’m really taking the right classes or not) with the help of the nice secretary lady who works there, and we went through my unofficial transcript together (luckily I had it on my computer already) and determined that I probably only have four more art classes to take.  He knows nothing about the education plan, so I need to find someone to talk to about that.  I also need to register for classes, but I don’t know which to register for because I don’t know what I need or which classes I’ve already taken count for my gen eds and such, or if I need any gen eds, or anything, really.  It’s a bit frustrating.  Also, apparently metals is required for my major (which, I now remember, is why I signed up for it in the first place).  So I guess I’ll have to try that again.  At least I’ve already established a relationship with the teacher, so hopefully something can be worked out when I do take it.  I’m also going to try to get accommodations through the disability services stuff, but I don’t really know what they can do about that class, since soldering is kind of a huge portion of the work.

This weekend, I’ll be working at camp, so I’m super excited for that.  I’ll do arts and crafts, but I don’t know what kind of project I’ll do yet.  I should probably come up with something.

Well, that was a lot of words.  I think I’ll be done now.  Time to cross stitch and eat and maybe even do some homework.

3 responses to “I tried to post on Monday

Leave a comment