Less than Two

That’s how many hours I have before class starts.  I’m already at school, outside the classroom, waiting.  Why?  I had homework to do and the weather was supposed to be bad, so I came early.  Benefit?  I got a good parking space and didn’t have to walk across campus.  I also managed to do the homework.  But now I’m going to be bored.  Yesterday, I was very bored.  I started watching a documentary about dirt and then watched a few TED talks.  I also did nothing.  It was not fun.

Now, what to do with my two hours?  Well, I suppose I could do some other homework, but that wouldn’t be waiting until the last minute, and that’s just not my style.  Also, homework is boring and I can only handle so much at a time.

So I type here.  About nothing.  Yay.

I guess I could tell you about my homework.  That’s kind of like doing it, right?  Well, for this pluralism in education class, I get to make a gender collage poster thing about females.  It’s supposed to be about stereotypes, expectations, etc.  This, to me, is boring.  I don’t even have any good magazines to cut up for this project (National Geographic doesn’t have many clothing ads…or women at all).  I think it’s more interesting to show the pictures women aren’t in…the explorers, the business men, the cars…but I’m supposed to use images of women.  The guys in the class are doing posters of maleness, so I can’t infringe on their pictures, I guess.  Obviously, there’s tons of stuff online that I could use (just go to Pinterest and search “Real woman”), but then I have to print it and it’s not the same quality as the magazine images.  Maybe that will work…if my printer cooperates.  I think it may be running low on ink.

In my drawing class, our out of class assignment is a self portrait through the torso (our first was just the head/neck).  Contrary to what the syllabus says, we can be clothed, which is nice…but makes it harder to choose.  I’m not good at choosing.

Contemporary art is interesting but too short.  The readings are interesting but too long.

My other education classes are okay.  In one, I’m going to do a case study of an adolescent girl I used to babysit (now she is a babysitter), so that should be fun.  I also have to write a personal philosophy statement of 500-1000 words about good teachers.  That’s probably going to be less fun.

15.  It’s only been 15 minutes.

Okay, I’m going to go peruse the webs and watch some TED talks or something.  Maybe I’ll find something interesting to report back on.  Probably not.

One response to “Less than Two

Leave a Reply

