I’m finally in proper education classes!

I don’t think I’ve told you that before.  Now, I have.

I’m also a full-time student, with plenty of credits and classes to entertain me.  Today, I have three education courses.  So far, they don’t seem too informative, but also not too difficult, so this should be okay.  I think they’d seem more informative if I didn’t already have a degree that covered a lot of these things and if I hadn’t been teaching in some way for over eight years.  Obviously, I’m not saying that I know everything after only eight years, but I do know a lot of what these intro classes cover.  And I’m fine with that.  They are needed for my degree and I will take them.

I got to school about an hour before my first class, thinking that would be plenty of time to get my parking permit, park, and get to class.  Well, I was almost wrong.  First, there were no parking spaces anywhere near the parking permit office, so I had to drive around until I found a meter.  Then, when I put my quarters in, I realized that each quarter was only good for 25 minutes of parking, not one hour like in the meters by the arts building.  Whatever.  I paid the meter and walked to the parking permit office, in the cold wind (like, -degrees), filled out the form, got my sticker thing, and walked back to the car.  Then, I got in the car and started looking for parking spaces because I didn’t have enough change to feed the meter for my whole class block and it was only a four hour meter anyway (my classes are in a five hour block).  Turns out, there are no parking spaces anywhere near the building where my education classes are.  Well, there are, but they’re either reserved for service vehicles, handicapped, or some other reservation, or they were full, probably since 2 am or something stupid like that.  So I couldn’t find a parking space and I was running out of time before class.  I drove around a couple blocks to try to find street parking, giving up on the idea that I wouldn’t have to walk forever in the cold.  There were no street parking spaces.  Finally, I drove over to the arts building, because I knew there had always been some spaces open last semester, and, if I had to walk, I might as well not have to pay for parking my car.  A few spaces were left, and I took one, as close to the far-away education classes as I could.  Then, I walked in the cold wind to class, only to realize that, when I printed my schedule this morning, one class’ location and other info didn’t print.  So I looked around a bit and tried to get online to check, but of course that didn’t work.  By this point, there were about five minutes left before class was supposed to start.  I went to the info desk and asked the girl there if she could help, and she was really nice and found the room number for me.  I got to class with a minute or two to spare.  Yay for first days!

My last class of the day will be starting soon.  Then, I have to go meet with my non-advisor to get some stuff sorted, then turn in a background check form, then get my books, and finally go home, after walking back to my car in the cold wind.  Tomorrow, I have class at 8:50 in the morning.  I have a 75 minute drive from home to school.  That should be fun to wake up for.  But at least it’s an art class, so I’ll be able to get parking more easily.

So………class is starting……..ish……..better stop typing……..

Leave a Reply

