The Flu

Last weekend, as I mentioned in my previous post, I was at camp.  It was a lovely time.  I held the camp baby, made a cookie with her three year old brother, failed at melty beads, watched toboggans, ate yummy food, and made friends with campers.  Then, I went home and taught Sunday school Sunday morning, took a nap, and probably did some other stuff, before waking up Monday with a cough.  It wasn’t too bad.  Until the afternoon.  By 4:37ish, I had a fever, lots of pain, bad coughs, headache, dizziness, and general ickiness.  I went to the doctor, where they x-rayed my chest to make sure I didn’t have pneumonia and stuck a giant Q-tip up my nose to confirm the flu.  The latter was positive.  I had influenza b.

Now, it’s been almost a week, and I feel a lot better, but I still have a cough, some aches and pains, and my front bottom teeth hurt.  I don’t know if that’s related, but I thought you’d like to know.  This flu is mean.  Last Tuesday, I was supposed to work at Goodwill, go to a knitting meeting, hang out with a friend, and go to the dentist.  My attendance at all of those, of course, was cancelled.  I was also planning on going to my cousin’s house to do art with her five kids, but now it’s too late and I’ll have to wait.  Hopefully, I can make it work for spring break, but I don’t know.

Also, school is being stupid.  My adviser knows nothing about the education program, and I can’t find anyone who does who will talk to me.  Now, with about a week left before school starts, I’m considering switching schools or taking a semester off.  This is not what I want to do, but if they’re going to be stupid about it, I don’t really have a more logical choice.

On the plus side of this flu, I’ve done some stuff out of boredom.  I made a few cards and wrote some letters in them, made a few macrame bracelets, started my brother’s Christmas present (a macrame necklace), played a bit of Pokemon and a bit of the Sims Medieval, did some word and logic puzzles, and watched hours of Ancient Alien Astronaut Theories on the History Channel (I may have been at least partially asleep through most of those, though, because, let’s face it, those shows are stupid and the narrator’s voice is sleepy).  I also managed to put some new podcasts and things on my iPod and have been listening to those the last couple days.  I quite enjoyed Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me and This American Life.  There was also one that mentioned Little Free Library, which is a really awesome nonprofit you should probably check out by clicking the handy dandy little free link I provided.  That got me started, again, on thinking about the nonprofit I want to start and looking into things to do with that, like other organizations and how to start a business plan and all that jazz…but then I got bored and tired, so I rested and haven’t returned to that stuff yet this afternoon.

Well, I’m getting tired of this, so I think I’ll go find something else to do.

Leave a Reply

