Christmas, Cookies, and Cleaning

Once again, it’s been a while since my last post.  I’ve been busy.  And maybe sleepy sometimes.  The 17th was my last day at school, although I did have to drive back on Friday to pick up some art projects.  I ended up with an A, A-, and a B, so that’s pretty good, although I wonder if I should have been less honest about what I thought my grade should be in ceramics and maybe I would have gotten something higher.  Oh well.  I also could have probably gotten an A in drawing, instead of an A-, but I just didn’t have time or want to put in that much effort.  The final project was enough work.  My ceramics professor felt that my final piece was too ambiguous.  Maybe I like ambiguity and am open to interpretation.  Maybe it doesn’t matter to me whether the viewer sees a blob of fat or something playful on that child’s chair.  I’ll take some pictures at some point, I suppose, and then you can see it yourselves.

I’m cleaning my room.  Really…I can clean and type at the same time…Actually, I’ve cleaned for a few hours now and I can finally sit comfortably on my bed, so I’m taking a break.  Granted, I don’t know where to find most of my clothes right now (they’re in trash bags instead of piles until I put them away), but I did make progress…at least on my sleeping area.  My grandma is coming to our house today, and staying for a few days, so the house needs to be presentable.  She doesn’t know we live in a mess every day, and my mom wants to keep up that illusion.  Whatever.

Christmas time was pretty fun.  Last Sunday, we had our Christmas program with Sunday school, and that was exciting since I’m one of the preschool teachers.  I gave the kids little goodie bags and the presents they made for their families, and they were all really excited.  A couple of kids also gave me gifts, which is always sweet.  I went to the Goodwill party last week and got to see Santa, and it was really cool seeing how excited all the clients were to see him.  Church on Sunday was pretty empty, but was overflowing on Christmas Eve.  After church on Monday, my grandparents came to our house for dinner and Christmas rice (which is delicious) and card games and conversation.  Then, on Christmas, we opened our presents, ate cinnamon rolls, and went to their house for Christmas with them and my aunt and uncle and two of his kids.  In the late afternoon, my great-aunt visited, and we had more delicious food.  Also, I ate Grandma’s cookies.  They are the best.  She makes about 20 kinds each year (she used to do about 40, and multiple batches of each), and they’re wonderful.  I decorated the sugar cookies this year and helped make a new kind with peppermint candies and colored sugar.  I love making cookies with Grandma.

I don’t really have much else to tell you right now, so I guess I’ll get back to cleaning or something.  I hope you’re having a lovely wintertime (or summer, if you’re in that hemisphere).

Leave a Reply

