That’s one less thing to worry about

I guess.  In light of my lack of ability to use the torch in metals class, and after a conversation with my teacher after the project I failed to produce was due, I’ve decided to drop the class.  She convinced me that the extra anxiety was unnecessary, that life is too short to spend it doing things that make us suffer.  I’m not sure I’m convinced entirely, but I am withdrawing from the class.  Now I just have to get all the paperwork done and signatures I need and everything (it’s after the “final” drop date, so I need special permission and a good reason).  I’ve also gone to the office that deals with accommodations for students with disabilities and gotten paperwork to fill out to start receiving their services and be documented at this university so that I hopefully don’t have trouble dealing with anxiety in classes again.  I don’t really think there’s much they can do to help me, but we’ll see.

In ceramics, I have two weeks to make 18 teacups without handles, aka teabowls.  They have to be made in different ways and with different clays, so it’s not quite as simple as you might think it would be, especially considering I’m not very good at consistency.  I’ll certainly try, though.  Also, I’ve begun adding surface treatments to the pieces I’ve had bisque fired.  So far, that just means I used some cobalt wash on some cups and almost finished a pitcher before I decided that it was ugly and needed to be washed off.

I’m starting a new project in drawing today, but I have no idea what it is.  All the professor’s told us is that we’re using colored pencils.  Well good.  I’m glad I spent $30 on the crayons he demanded we buy for that one week we used them.  Totally worth it.  I mean, I’ll use them again, but some of the people in my class certainly won’t.  And, of course, it had to be that particular brand, because regular pastels are too…wrong.

I have an online midterm for my special education class.  It’s open book, timed for one hour, 15 multiple choice and true/false questions.  I think I can handle this.  In fact, I’d be doing it right now, but it’s no open yet…which is why I’m here, I guess.

I don’t really have anything to tell you.

3 responses to “That’s one less thing to worry about

Leave a Reply

