Covered in Mud

I didn’t realize it’s been so long (a whole 10 days!) since my last post.  Goodness gracious, school seems to have gotten the better of me.  Really, it’s not that I have a lot of work to do or a lot of classes; rather, I have a long commute every day.  I need to find a place to live that is closer to school.  I also need to find a new car.  My parents are actually working on that right now, since two of the cars we had broke within the past week.  I’m driving the nice new car, adding on the miles (and averaging almost 32 MPG!).

I’ve had to come into school this weekend and last to work on ceramics.  Our first project is throwing mugs and cups on the wheel, and most of the class did that in their previous ceramics class.  I, however, went to a different school, a school that did not teach throwing in the first ceramics class.  This means that I have to work extra hard because I really have no idea what I’m doing.  At least I’ve kind of figured it out now (after watching a lot of youtube videos); I can make a squat cylinder, and sometimes add a little extra shape to it.  My bowls aren’t too bad, though (I tend to make bowls while trying to make cups).  I’ve been working in the studio for about three hours so far today, and did about seven yesterday, and I think I’m finally getting closeish to having good enough stuff for Monday (when they’re due).  I have to add handles to half and texture half (I’m supposed to have 12, but we’re encouraged to make extra in case one cracks or something), but that’s probably going to have to wait until tomorrow.  I do plan on throwing a few more cups tonight, but I’m (obviously) taking a break right now.

In other school news, I’m taking art metals again.  I started taking it at my first college, but had to drop the class because I fell behind and the teacher wasn’t very helpful.  I had a lot of anxiety around the sharp and hot objects (I really don’t even like scissors or hair dryers, and, obviously, cutting copper and soldering require a bit more than that), but I tried really hard to get over it.  I just worked kind of slow, and was really afraid of doing the soldering by myself (open flame?  no thank you).  Now, I’m trying again.  This teacher seems like she’s going to be more helpful already, and, since I kind of know a little of what to expect, I’m not as anxious (at least not yet). There will be still be open flame that I’ll have to handle (we’re required to do high temperature soldering that’s not really soldering but has another name I don’t really remember and no it’s not welding), but that’s not starting yet.  Our first assignment was to do 100 2″x2″ drawings.  I did  maybe 20.  I wasn’t the only one in class who didn’t finish, and I had a good reason:  we had to make lists first and make choices from those lists, and that took about five hours because of my OCD, five hours that should have been dedicated to drawing.  The professor also strongly encouraged me to find a new place to live soon, so that I can take that commute time and turn it into homework time.

My computer is getting quite dirty.  It probably has something to do with me never cleaning it and then typing on it when there are still remnants of clay on my hands.

I still have to save all of my data from my Multiply blog.  I suppose I could get that started so that it can download while I’m throwing, but I don’t think I will, at least not tonight.  I just don’t feel like it and it’s not even October yet (so there’s plenty of time before December 1st).

I also want to get back to reading.  I started that book last week and haven’t really read any of it since my last post.  Maybe I will once I finish ceramics and art metals.  Then, of course, there will be other assignments.

Speaking of other assignments, for my drawing class, we’re supposed to make a drawing based on value that is made up of many small marks that add to the meaning of the image (based on a photo).  I have a lot of photos with great value, but I don’t really know what to do with the mark making to add content.  If you have any ideas, please let me know.  One of the examples the professor showed us was done with song lyrics, another with adjectives about the person (that class was required to do self-portraits; we’re not), but I’ve done the words thing before and, frankly, it’s quite overdone, so I don’t want to do that.  I’m thinking about somehow incorporating emotion into how the marks are made/what they’re made with (any monochromatic drawing tool, even one we make up), but I don’t know how to make that relate to the image.  I have a great photo of one of my best friends from college, with really nice value and contrast, but I don’t know what to say about her with the marks.  I also have a photo of a flamingo that I really like, but, again, I don’t know what to do with it.  I guess I’ll just have to keep thinking about it, maybe experiment with a few things.  An idea I just had was to draw with charcoal briquettes (like for a grill) instead of drawing charcoal, but I’m not going to do that unless it has a purpose and adds to the meaning of the image.  What do I want the meaning to be?

Oh look, I’m at over 975 words.  Let’s make it at least 1,000, just for fun.

I only have five minutes left to type before my self-allotted break is over.  Guess I should publish this and get back to work.

Leave a Reply

