Crafting Peace?

I’m at the library today, and I picked up a book that I saw on Amazon, put on my wishlist, and then kind of didn’t think about again.  It’s Quilting for Peace:  Making the World a Better Place One Stitch at a Time, by Katherine Bell.  I glanced through it, looked at the projects, read a few quotes, and decided I should probably check out this book and read it further. I have a week and a half left before I go back to school, and the gnawing desire to DO something hasn’t gone away.  I decided that I wanted to make a quilt, a small doll quilt to begin with, because I was inspired as a child by a book I saw on Reading Rainbow, and the desire to create a patchwork quilt of reused fabric squares has never left.  My original purpose for creating the quilt, since I don’t need it for my dolls, was to donate it to the camp I work at for their annual quilt auction.  The quilt auction is the largest fundraiser for camp, and I sincerely believe in the work camp does (otherwise I wouldn’t work there).  I really enjoy making arts and crafts with a point, generally to “help” people.  We could debate the meaning of help, if it’s worth it, who it really helps, if it’s dignified, etc., but I don’t feel like doing that right now.  That’s not the point (although it is an interesting point to discuss later).  The point is that people everywhere are in need and I can help them.  You can help them.  We can help them.  By doing so, we help ourselves.  Being creative is great, but creating with a purpose is what it’s all about, at least for me, and if that purpose can be something more important than grades, that’s awesome.  So back to books.  I already own Craft Hope, a great book with a variety of projects and charities highlighted.  There’s another thing we could talk about–charity.  What does it mean, is it the best solution, etc.  But we’re not going to talk about that right now, either.  The point is that, sometimes, a hand-crafted item can really help someone, whether it saves their life in a physical sense or just makes them a little happier for a while.

So what’s the point?  I’m not sure, to be honest.  I just felt like telling you all something about what I want to do.  This post is probably going to be a bit long and a bit more disorganized, but that doesn’t really matter.  *uses Focus Energy like a Pokemon* Okay, hopefully this makes some sense to someone.  If not, oh well.

First (not really, as there are two paragraphs already written, but whatever), some quotes I found in Quilting for Peace:

  • “Every gun that is made, every warship launched, every rocket fired, signifies, in the final sense, a theft from those who hunger and are not fed, those who are cold and are not clothed.”–Dwight D. Eisenhower
  • “How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.”–Anne Frank
  • “There can be no keener revelation of a society’s soul than the way in which it treats its children.”–Nelson Mandela
  • “Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world.  Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.”–Margaret Mead

There is so much I could say about each of those quotes, and maybe I will later, but I’m trying to avoid tangents right now.  For the moment at least, let’s take them together:  basically, we, the human species, know the world can be improved. …So let’s do it.

At some point, maybe in a few minutes, I’m going to research and link to a few sites of groups that do crafty peace/hope/help things.  You may explore (or not) at your pleasure, and of course search for more.  I would be thrilled to learn of any you know about.

Oh look, I left the library and am now back to typing.  I think I feel like reading now, so I’m going to stop blogging for a bit, but I shall return.

Leave a Reply

